Greetings From the MTC

Hola familia!

Gosh am I happy it’s finally a PDAY!!  We have been go go go for the past 8 days straight so it’s such a breath of fresh air to be in some sweats and hearing from all of you wonderful people!

We just got back from doing a session at the temple and it was AWESOME!  A lot better than my first experience there haha and then we ate breakfast at the Temple Cafeteria. The MTC food is fine but that temple food was the bomb!  No wonder Natalie worked there for all those years.

I feel like I have so much to tell you but I don’t even know where to begin!  I brought my journal along with me to help me remember what I’ve been doing.

Not gonna lie, the first few days were super hard, but I’m adjusting and loving my time here. On our second day here we already had to teach a lesson in SPANISH. Talk about scary!  But we actually did pretty well and since then we’ve taught like six spanish lessons, so we’re basically pros.  Our first investigator, Juvini, is this 23 year old guy and we can’t tell if he’s actually an investigator or just a really good actor.  He’s really hard to connect with and super aloof, and it doesn’t help that our spanish is super limited.  But we definitely are relying on the spirit and it’s working miracles already!

We have another investigator, Maribel, who is the most amazing person ever.  She’s pretty much a ‘golden investigator’ and the spirit was so strong during our lesson with her.  I’ve never felt so guided by the spirit!  When I told her Christ had come to the Americas she was sooo excited and me and mis companeras were pretty much jumping up and down after the lesson.  It was amazing.

I can pray in spanish and bear my testimony in spanish pretty well, too.  The gift of tongues is so real.  I really don’t think I remember all the stuff Ms. Coronel taught me all those years ago, it has to be Heavenly Father.  I know my spanish is nothing compared to how it will be when I get to Argentina though haha.

So we haven’t had a set teacher since we’ve been here, so basically every day someone random will just teach us whatever they feel like teaching so that’s cool I guess.  But GET THIS. So our teacher the other day starts talking about how he’s from Ventura!  And so I’m like, WAIT, I’m from Ojai!  So he looks at my name tag and like freaks out asking if I’m Will’s sister, and I was like YES!  Turns out it was Alex Castro and he’s like the nicest person ever.  We chatted for a little bit after he was done with his lesson and I’ve never heard someone speak so highly of every single one of you guys haha (granted our entire conversation was in Spanish) but he was telling me about how mom had made his family dinner and how tasty it was and how dad was his home teacher and all of this stuff.  It was nice to be able to talk to him!

Tuesday we had a devotional and Bonnie L. Oscarson spoke (the general young women’s president).  She’s a super good speaker and she had multiple quotes from Elder Waddell (shout out to Will lol).

We get gym time almost every day, which is like the highlight of my life here. I’m like the queen of four square and beat every single person in my zone (obviously the MTC is teaching me about humility hahaha.)

I really like my companions and I’m learning a lot about patience.  Being with people 24/7 is definitely an adjustment but I’m learning how to adjust.  It’s weird, I’m probably the most focused of any of them when it comes to studying.  It surprises me, too, trust me haha.

Sunday after devotional we get the chance to watch a movie or conference talk so, me, Sam and Brock all sat together since it was Sam’s last night.  It was cool having part of the gang back together and it’s especially awesome that we’re all serving missions!  Sam’s finally out in the field so keep an eye out for her when you go to the temple. We watched the talk from David A. Bednar called “Character of Christ” that he gave at an MTC devotional a few years back.  I recommend it to all of you, its LIFE CHANGING.

You should seriously all write me Dear Elders or hand written letters.  They make life at the MTC so much easier to endure haha. Megan and Bethany have been awesome at doing that, so shout out to them!

Thank you all for writing and keep it up!  I love hearing from you all and I love you all so much! My testimony is making leaps and bounds here and I’m grateful for the opportunity to serve!

El evangelio de Jesucristo es verdad!

Con Amor,

Hermana Fuerte

 

Leave a Reply

