My First Week in Argentina

 

1 Pic from ArgentinaBuenos Aries Temple

Well.  I survived my first week here in Argentina!!  I actually understand and speak better than I expected, so I´m very happy about that.  People keep complimenting me on my accent.  Which is weird because I can´t even roll my r´s.  So they´re probably just saying that haha.

My mission president and his wife are awesome.  They don´t speak english, so my first interview with him was short and sweet, with lots of pictures and hand motions to get his point across, lol.  Hopefully that will improve soon.  We stayed the night at the mission home that night (which is super beautiful) and that was where I had my first Argentine dish.  I honestly have no idea what I ate but it tasted good!

My companion is awesome!  She´s from Salt Lake and we get along super well.  She also has a lot of patience with me, and really boosts my self esteem telling me how awesome I´m doing (even when I´m not) so that´s a blessing.  We live with two other hermanas, so it´s a party all night long (well actually until 11, because that´s our bedtime.)  One of them is also the mission nurse, so I´m in good hands.

My area is called Alberdi, which is pretty city-like and super pretty.  It covers like all of the classes of people.  Like you have the bishop´s house, which seems like a mansion (or just a normal house in the states) then you have middle class, which is like lower class in America (that´s where we live) and then lower class, called the villa, which to me seems like a third world country.  Just in the past couple of days we´ve met like 6 people who don’t even know how to read, so we’re actually going to teach some of them how to read so they can read the Book of Mormon.  It´s a really awesome experience.

OH YEAH.  We´re doing a ‘white wash’ here, meaning all four of the hermanas are new to the area.  So we’ve been crazy busy (well thats what the other hermanas say, I don’t know any different) and we’ve been going around trying to meet EVERYONE.  The ward is awesome here though and helps us a lot with missionary work.  I’m already starting to see how important members are in missionary work!  Every member a missionary!!

It luckily hasnt been that hot here, perfect weather!  I’m really sunburnt and my feet are super blistered but I like to think that it just shows my hard work lol.

Last night we got our first baptism date! WOOHOO!  We thought we were going to a recent convert´s house, but turns out it was her mom that isnt a member!  We talked with her (or my companion talked with her, I just smile and pretend to know whats happening) and she asked us why it’s so important to be baptized.  DING DING DING.  So we explained it to her and she accepted to be baptized on the 7th!!  We are pumped!

The culture is really interesting here (you kiss on the cheek to greet people), the food is yummy (i’ve already eaten SO MUCH PASTA) and every day get is getting better!  Thanks for all of your prayers and letters!  Love you all so much!

Con mucho amor,

Hermana Strong

 

Leave a Reply

