Abide With Me

Martinelli Family ??????????

Familia,
I loved receiving all of your letters and hearing about the week. I really wish I could have been there to say goodbye, but I know that grandma is helping me here and that I’m where I need to be.  This experience is only helping my testimony even more, which will only allow me to help others more.
This week felt really long and I’m excited for my empanadas and nap that I’m going to have after I write this letter.  We had a lot of good, frustrating, surprising and exciting experiences, which is pretty much what every week is like.
President Zanni came to our area to talk with one of our investigators, who we can’t figure out why he won’t get baptized.  They were supposed to meet at the chapel, but Miguel never showed up.  So me, Hermana Briggs and Presdident Zanni drove to his house and surprised him.  Me and Hna. Briggs felt like little girls riding in the backseat of President’s car and he just chatted with us, I not knowing anything he was saying haha.  We showed up, they apparently had an AWESOME experience, but he STILL won’t get baptized.  This is probably one of the most frustrating parts of the mission haha.
A few things I can’t get used to about Argentina:
1. People water their sidewalks and I still haven’t been able to figure out why.
2. People ride around everywhere on their motos, without helmets, with their SMALL CHILDREN.  I’ve seen up to like 4 kids at a time with their dad.  Safety apparently isn’t a priority.
3. Instead of knocking on doors, we clap outside.  I’ve really been able to perfect my clap though.
4. NOBODY is married, which makes it hard to get people baptized.  Most of the time people aren’t married because one of them still isn’t divorced.  We have an investigator who has been with her pareja for 17 years and he still isn’t divorced. OK.
There’s a lot of other things that I’m sure I could come up with but maybe I’ll save that for another time.
I’m glad to hear you’re all doing well.  I’ve been praying for you a lot this week but I have total faith in the Plan of Salvation and can’t wait for the day when we can be with grandma again.  I’ve had Abide With Me stuck in my head ALL week, which is a constant reminder that she’s watching over us.
Love you all so much!
Sass

Leave a Reply

