Pres Uchtdorf Comes to Argentina

Hermana Cerna-Cass
Hola Familia!

I feel like I was just writing home like yesterday, this week flew by!  The highlight of the week was YESTERDAY when we got to watch the Dedication of the Córdoba Temple (from Rosario, we didn’t actually get to go to Cordoba, shucks).  President Uchtdorf and Elder Christofferson came and it was so cool.  Elder Christofferson had served his mission in the Argentina Norte mission (doesn’t that age him haha) and now he gets to be part of the dedication of the temple there.  I cant wait for the Rosario temple to be announced someday (hopefully not too far in the future!) President Uchtdorf had to give his talk in English and have it translated to spanish, which was a blessing for me because then I got to actually enjoy it without giving myself a headache trying to understand haha.
So we had to travel to another church building to watch it, but the last session was only being broadcast in Rosario (which is like an hour away).  SO a member from a different branch offers to drive us there.  Obviously we accept, and end up going with him, his wife, his son, and four of us hermana missionaries in the tiniest car I’ve ever seen.  If that didn’t look funny enough, this hermano is driving with his knees drinking mate the whole way there. SO ARGENTINA.  But we made it there in one piece and it was soooo good!
So having a Latina companion is REALLY hard.  Hermana Cerna was born in Peru but grew up in Spain.  So she cooks really good Peruvian food and dresses very cute and European.  I’ve kind of been losing my mind not being able to communicate in the way that I want to BUT my spanish has already improved a TON so that’s a blessing.  There’s still quite a few moments where I pretend I know what she said and have no idea, so hopefully I’ll have less of those this week haha.
 We’re in a branch and we are SO CLOSE to being a branch.  With attendance yesterday, we are only ten people away!  The issue is there’s tons of drama in this branch.  This person has a problem with that person so now they won’t go to church, blah blah blah.  We, as humans, are not perfect.  But the church of Jesus Christ IS perfect.  We go to church to worship God, and that should be reason enough to go.  So we have A LOT of work to do with less active members!
Haha I still cant get over the Argentine culture sometimes, for instance we went to get ice cream and all of the workers were sitting around, drinking mate, watching a Mexican soap opera.
We also went to visit this menos activa, who is like 80 something years old and wrinkled like a prune.  She was sitting there hanging out, drinking mate with her sister, who is probably 90 something and probably even more wrinkled.  One of the sisters walks all the way from the other side of town to hang out with the other sister.  Neither of them have teeth but they were just a hoot and a half.  Whitney and Megan: SISTER GOALS haha.
I’m learning a lot about how to live with someone from a different culture and how to communicate in a different language.  It’s getting to the point where I’m forgetting english!  But I still struggle to understand what’s happening so I’m also learning a lot about PATIENCE. But I know that it will all be so worth it in the end! The gospel of Jesus Christ is true!  It’s seriously the source to the truest happiness we can ever experience!  It’s not something that we have for five minutes and then fades.  Its something that lasts for eternity!  
And I am SO BLESSED with the knowledge that I have and the hope and faith that help me in everything I do!
Con mucho amor,
Hermana Strong
1 Comment

  1. Mate! Mate! Mate! Funniest thing in Argentina when we picked up Ry was me being invited into the kitchen at the Stake Center to sit and drink Mate with the Stake Patriarch. I love all your stories Hermana Strong. Thank you for them, your testimony, your prayers and your dedication.

    Like

Leave a Reply

