Humble Circumstances in Belgrano

Sister Cerna In the Rain
So this week, I decided to study the Christlike attribute of HUMILITY.  And I learned more than I thought I would about it this week:

We FINALLY were able to move into our new apartment.  But, upon arriving, we discovered that the only thing left from the last missionaries in Belgrano were two mattresses and two blankets.  We didn’t have hot water, heater (because its winter here, I still can’t get over that!), or clean water to drink (we aren’t allowed to drink the tap water, maybe that’s why I had stomach issues lol).  SO Friday night was humble circumstances, and caused me to really appreciate the simple things that I ALWAYS take for granted.

However, we were not left to fend for ourselves.  I learned that when we are truly humble and obedient, the Lord will always provide!  The next day, our mission leader went and bought everything we needed: beds, desks, dresser, everything.  Plus, his father in law, whose also in the ward, came and fixed our kitchen, our hot water and lights.  It was HEAVEN SENT.

Also, we weren’t allowed to leave the apartment Saturday night because ARGENTINA was playing for the finals of Copa America!  But they lost… So ashamed… Just kidding.

Just as we finally were able to move to our actual area, they changed the location of church, to the building of the area where we were living before.  They are remodeling our area, so now its a major trial of faith for everyone in the ward.  Only half of the usual attendance came… So we have a lot of work to do.  But it will be all worth it in the end!
I’ve also come to really enjoy the bus trips that we take.  They’re short and sweet, but I see the coolest acts of service.  People giving up their seats for the elderly, or for the young mothers.  Or helping the disabled.  Or giving someone a little bit of money to be able to ride.  It makes me realize that the world isn’t so bad after all!

So we’re probably gonna be pretty busy this week, planning a wedding, a baptism, and then a party to celebrate it all!  So far everything is looking really good and I’m so excited to see what will happen!  It’s moments like this when I remember how HAPPY I am to be doing this work and to be helping others experience the lasting joy that comes from the gospel. The gospel is for EVERYONE and EVERYONE has the opportunity to feel it for themselves!

Love you all so much!

Con amor,

Hermana Strong

Mosiah 2:41

Leave a Reply

