Yoga, Dead Bodies and Transfers

Indepence Daysister from Brazil Cotton Candy Hermanas
Hola Familia!

It was a fun filled and busy week, and definitely an improvement with what its been like before haha. 

On Tuesday we had a Special Conference with all the hermanas in the Mission Home.  We ate choripan (choriso sandwiches), talked about faith, and had a secret card giving activity, where we anonymously gave a letter to another hermana.  It was so cool because the letter I received was like EXACTLY what I needed.  The highlight of the day was doing yoga (pronounced shoga) out in the yard with Hermana Zanni.  We all had a good laugh trying move our bodies like pretzels, but it was also really relaxing so I was content with that. 

So we’ve been working with a menos activa, and her mother passed away this week.  The bishop told us to go to the mortuary to see her, so we went but only her sister was there.  She was just about to leave and told us to go ahead and wait inside.  So we walk inside and the only person in there was the body of her mother…. OKAY thanks for the warning!  But we had no where else to go and wait so we decided to just hang with her mom for a bit.  Later some of the members were asking us if we knew here. “yeah” we told them, “we got to know her real well in the mortuary” hahahaha. 

The other day after lunch we were walking along, and I was super full and ate too much as usual, and suddenly I feel everything go a little bit more loose, and realize my BELT had broke.  My worst nightmare is coming to pass!!!

So I am in a new area: Ramallo in San Nicolas!  Its just a little pueblo and the complete OPPOSITE of my last area.  I’m already in my 4th area in 6 months, which is way too many, but I’m getting to know a heck of a lot more people, and overcome my WEAKNESS of getting to know people over and over again.  The people are way nice here, super easy going, and the weather has been beautiful so I love it here already.  My companion is Hermana Sheppard, from Virginia, and she already has a year in the mission, but we get along SUPER well and she knows how to braid hair so thats a major plus!

Today I was reading in Alma 36, the story of Alma the Younger and his process of repentance.  And something that I love about this chapter is that it’s Alma sharing this experience with this son.  And that the experience that he had was an answer to his father’s prayers.  And that in the moment of his deepest despair, he remembered the words and testimony of his father.  The example that parents have on their kids is SO important!!  Obviously I’m not a mom yet (thank goodness) but I am a daughter, and I can testify that the example of our parents changes everything.  Maybe your kids aren’t doing everything their supposed to in the moment, but one day they will REMEMBER the words and example and testimony of their mom and dad.  We just always have to continue faithful, and find opportunities to share our testimony, and LOVE as Christ would.  I’m so grateful for great parents!!!!

Love you all.  This church is true!

Con Amor,

Hermana Strong

Leave a Reply

