Conferences, Weddings and Stalking

 

 

DSC01327[1]HEYYYY FAMILY!

This week was busyyyy.  On Wednesday, we had this giant conference, and a member of the 70, Elder Ferreira (from Chile) came. I learned so much from him, his wife and the Zannis!  They are all truly inspired of God, and it’s amazing to learn from them and from the spirit.  After their talks, there was a worldwide broadcast for ALL of the missionaries in the entire world, all watching at the same time.  Some of the apostles and general authorities spoke, and it was a super special feeling as we sang “Called to Serve” to feel the unity of every missionary in the world singing it together.  This is most definitely the Lord’s work and I love being able to be HIS instrument in HIS hands to do it.
Another highlight of the week is that Carlos and Joana got MARRIED, and will be getting baptized this week, if everything goes according to plan!  We weren’t planning on going to the wedding (the weddings here are just in a room at like city hall, and they sign a piece of paper no más) but then at 9:45, we decided to go anyway (the wedding started at 10 in another pueblo.)  So we ran and caught the bus and made it in JUST before they closed the doors.  And it was so special!! They’ve been preparing for baptism/marriage for like 2 YEARS now so I feel suuuper lucky to have been there for these huge and important days in their lives.
Okay so the other day we were waiting outside for our neighbor (who is also a member) to come with us to a lesson.  And she was taking forever to answer the door.  So as we wait, we see this man walk by and he’s like super friendly to us.  And we both look at each other and think “should we talk to him?” and by the time we decide to, he’s like a block away.  So we basically just start running to catch up, and then we lose him.  So I try listening to what the spirit tells me, and we decide to turn left.  And sure enough, we spot him again!  He turns the corner, and we lose him again!!!  I think, we COULD give up, but we’ve already made it this far!  So we keep searching, and suddenly we find him in line for the ATM.  And although it was a crowded line, we contacted him anyway (probably one of the most awkward first impressions I’ve ever made), and hes like the nicest man ever, so lets pray that we can start teaching him and his family!  I never thought the mission would turn me into such a creepy person, but desperate times call for desperate measures haha.
But all in all this week, I think I was able to truly feel the guidance of the spirit.  We’ve been searching and searching to find new people to teach, and even though there were days without success, there were also days with LOTS of success and I cant wait for this week, to be able to continue to teach them.  Like I said before, I am the Lord’s instrument.  And I know that if I’m humble, He will lead me to where I need to be, put the words in my mouth, and give me the revelation I need to do His will.  It’s easier to walk with the Lord than it is to labor against Him.  Missionary work can be difficult, but it’s a lot easier when you have the Lord by your side.
I know Christ’s church is on the earth today!  What a privilege to have it in my life!
Love you all so much!
Hermana Strong
Leave a Reply

